Tomato Bisque

So, on cold yucky winter days, (the ones where im not stuck in the restaurant all day) i happen to love love love a nice hot soup! I’ve actually got a few of my favorite soup recipes sitting on the back burner, I’m still thinking about sharing with you all 🙂 maybe if I get some followers of comments I’ll actually post more lol I might even make a whole soup collection! 🙂

So, as The Great Rachael Ray taught me, there’s soup, and there’should chowder, then there’s choup (which is her word of course, meaning the wonderful hybrid that happens when a chowder and a soup have a baby) and i do love a good choup.

However when the kids are begging for grilled cheese, in my head the best match is not chowder nor choup, but a creamy tomato bisque (which is probably a good middle between soup and choup….I think lol) its so good!

The best I’ve ever had happened to be at a little cafe in town that closes down last year. However one of my very close friends worked the kitchen at said cafe and gave me the secret to their fabulous bisque was nothing but pizza sauce and heavy cream topped with a little cheese.

Amazed at the thought that this wonderful dish I’d loved for years was soo very simple I thought I would take it upon myself to come up with my own recipe with my very own twist 🙂 I’ve made this several times now and my 5 year old and my very picky one year old loves it!! Its a big recipe, makes enough for a very hungry family of 4 or 5 to have at least two bowls each! But I love making big batches of this because I love having some extra to heat up and eat the next day and through the week 🙂 but if you don’t want as much just cut it in half.

2 family size cans Campbell’s tomato soup
1 family cambells tomato soup can full of chicken stock and 1 full of water
2 cans tomato sauce
2 tsp oregano
2 tsp basil
1 1/2 tbsp black pepper
2 tbs minced garlic
1/3 cup shredded Colby jack cheese
1 small carton of heavy cream

Combine all ingredients except cheese and cream into a large pot and heat through on medium high heat.

Turn down heat and add heavy cream, heat through, and softly simmer about 10 minutes. Stir constantly so it doesnt burn the cream. (This is usually when I throw the grilled cheese on the heat. Lots of butter!!)

Stir in and melt cheese, continue to stir occationally for another 5-7 minutes.

It’s the best, truly 🙂 and as always, Shorty and Hammy approved!!

Leave a Reply

